Science: It’s a girl thing!!!! <3

Dear readers, right now I am ANGRY. Because Twitter just drew my attention to the most awful thing I have seen in quite some time. Watch this video.

I really don’t even know where to start. I watched this and almost laughed at it at first. Then I saw the website that goes with it. Please for the love of Darwin, look at the website.

IT IS A EUROPEAN COMMISSION WEBSITE.

This is how Europe thinks they are going to get women into science? REALLY EUROPE? HAVE YOU EVER MET A WOMAN? Everything about this website is patronising, condescending, insulting, negatively stereotyped, damaging, offensive… I could go on, but you get the point.

They made the “i” in “science” a lipstick. A LIPSTICK. They wrote “science” on the side of safety goggles like they’re Chanel or something. Click on the “Dream jobs” link on the website – it’s empty. Never mind – what about the “6 reasons science needs you” section – that might be informative. Go on Europe, sell a career in science to me!

Reason 1: Health, demographic change and wellbeing, paired with a stereotypical image of a woman caring for an old lady. Ahh of course, woman as carer. Although she *does* have a stethoscope around her neck, so she must be some kind of doctor. Four out of the other 5 reasons appear to be something to do with saving the planet. Who the hell were the women they researched to make this site – were they all Miss World contestants? “OMG yeah science is awesome because it helps us save the world and the planet and all the animals and OMG they talk about science on cosmetic websites so that must be science too so THAT’S COOL!”

Words really cannot describe my anger at this site. It’s almost laughable. But the worrying thing is, this is a serious thing. This is an actual thing that people thought was a Good Idea. I do despair. Women, men, scientists… Let’s take action.  I am trying to link to the “contact” section of the website but it just keeps timing out so if anyone finds out where we can complain to, please do let me know in the comments section.

I love this. By @tomhouslay

Tagged , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Science: It’s a girl thing!!!! <3

  1. Laurie says:

    Love it. You summed up my anger beautifully :)

    Now, best get back to sucking on the ends of my lab glasses in a seductive manner

  2. livlov says:

    If I ever turned up to a lab day at uni looking like that, I’d be marched out so fast by the supervisors it would make my head spin.

  3. [...] over £80,000 making one of the worst pieces of video I have ever seen… I wrote about it here, where you can also see the video. It’s an understatement to say there was a lot of backlash [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,710 other followers

