Happy new year!

I know everyone always complains about hogmanay (or New Year’s Eve to all those who are not Scottish). It’s all a massive build up full of expectation and at the end of it all you get is severe memory loss, a few mystery bruises and the worst hangover you’ve had since exactly 365 days ago.

But I have to admit, I love New Year. It’s always a great night out but beyond that, I revel in the optimism that people feel around about January 1st. True, much of this optimism will ultimately end up as nothing more than bitter disappointment, failed diets and gloominess. But it would be nice if it all lasted a little bit longer, wouldn’t it? I for one am feeling hopeful about this year. Let’s face it, 2011 wasn’t the Best Year Ever for most of us. I like the idea of a brand new start and a new outlook.

This year is going to bring a lot of changes for me personally. In a few days time I am relocating from Fife to Newcastle which should be fun. I am going to be a PhD student, which I am still trying to come to terms with since this was definitely not something I thought I could ever achieve until the last year.

I don’t have any new year’s resolutions, because I really don’t see the point in them. I will just do what I do every year and try to work my ass off to be as good as I can be at what I’m doing. Ed Yong summed it up for me with this tweet on Hogmanay:

This really touched me, because I have had a lot of worries about my decision to move to Newcastle to do my PhD, as I have written about here before. I am moving further away from my family and partner than would be preferred, and I am going to have less than no money for a long, long time. But I will be doing exactly what I want to do. My PhD project feels like it was created for me (it was an advertised post, I didn’t write the proposal..) and I am so thankful that I have been given the opportunity to do it. So although things will be tough at first, I know I am doing the right thing and I genuinely look forward to whatever 2012 has got to offer. On that note, I wish all of you the best for the coming year and, echoing Ed’s sentiments, I hope everyone ends up doing the things they love, and loving the things they do.

Happy new year!

Lauren

P.s. An interesting fact to finish as I feel that post was a bit too sentimental for my writing style: WordPress tells me that the most common search terms used to find my blog was a combination of “hyena, birth, clitoris and bonobo”. This had already made my year better.

One thought on “Happy new year!

  1. Camille says:

    A bit sentimental, but still I love your writing style πŸ™‚ Happy New Year Lauren, and may 2012 be full of joy and surprises (and beers) !

Leave a Reply

