I have some news…

For a number of reasons, I have decided not to continue with my PhD. I would like to thank absolutely everyone that I have met, worked with and befriended during the last 9 months that I’ve spent in Newcastle – you are all awesome, many of you are crackers, a few of you have changed my life. I have had a wonderful time, learned a lot, and had experiences that I will never forget. As for the project itself, it is unique and relevant and something I am really proud of and remain passionate about: I sincerely hope that someone can pick it up and continue to work on it where I left off. I don’t regret a moment of this year.

The plan now is to move back to Scotland at the end of September. I will continue to blog about all things animal/sex related, if you can all bear to read the work of someone who no longer carries the hope of one day owning the title Dr Loris. Back to Loris Master o’ Science we must revert.

I still plan on making a career for myself in science communication/education, but I now realise that committing up to six years of my life to this PhD may not be the best way to go about it for me personally.

Newcastle: Thanks for everything, I will miss you.

Glasgow: I’m coming back. If anyone wants to employ this face, I’m totally available.

Loris x

Tagged ,

12 thoughts on “I have some news…

  1. protohedgehog says:

    Sad news, but I hope it’ll help you get to where you really want to be (somewhere awesome where you get to talk about crittur-coitus all day long!)

  2. Ed says:

    So speaking as someone who also had to choose to give up a PhD and stick with a Masters, I’m sure it was a really hard decision and that it was the right one. Some people may say tedious things about ‘giving up’, but it’s a far greater act of strength to realise when something isn’t for you, and pursue other opportunities. Good luck with it. Let me know if I can help.

  3. It’s sad that you’ve decided to quit; you were (and still are) so passionate about it! If it’s not right for you then it’s the right choice, I don’t regret quitting mine. The thing about a PhD is that you will spend ~4 years working on nothing but your PhD, which is great if you want to get ahead in academic research, but you won’t get any experience in anything else; essentially you will enter the job market in exactly the same position you are in now but a few years later.
    You don’t need a PhD to work in sci-comm, although some jobs such as medical writing or editing do ask for it, you largely won’t need it to work in outreach. I would recommend getting copy-writing experience, and volunteering. I’ve sci-comm a great area to work in, but I think you pretty much have resign yourself to the fact that ~95% of the jobs are in London.
    Best of luck!

    • pygmylorisreid says:

      Thanks Jess, that’s great advice. The thing with this particular PhD is also that it was part-time so the ~4 years would have potentially been a hell of a lot longer, and at the end of it there still would have been no guarantee of a decent job. I am still extremely passionate about science, sci comm and education and hopefully I can put that passion into something more practical.

  4. Hey Lauren,

    Me finks you’ve nailed it with “I am still extremely passionate about science, sci comm and education and hopefully I can put that passion into something more practical”.

    On the Glasgow front, check oot http://www.glasgowcityofscience.com/ 😉

  5. I’m sorry to hear you’ve had to make that decision. I’ve been there twice, and it’s a heartbreaking thing to do. But you seem really positive about the change of direction, and after all – life is too short to do something you’re not able to do 100%. Good luck with your new ventures, and keep writing about penises. 🙂

    • pygmylorisreid says:

      Thanks Julia! That means a lot. One of my potential paths is to a PGDE so perhaps I’ll be a psychology teacher one day and join you in frustrated yet passionate posts about the education system 🙂
      x

  6. cosmicstresshead says:

    I’m very glad you’ll still be writing the blog – your passion always comes through and I always learn something! Sounds like you made a good decision. Good luck in Glasgow, Lauren! Look after your wee self!

Leave a Reply

